International Development Law Organization

COVID-19 and Trafficking in Persons: The Role of First Responders

Tuesday, July 28, 2020

WEBINAR

Trafficking in persons (TIP) is one of the most serious crimes and a severe human rights violation. Trafficking affects women, men and children and victims regularly face multiple forms of exploitation and violence. Trafficking in persons often involves practices such as slavery, sexual exploitation, child labor, forced labor and forced marriage which are themselves violations of basic human rights and prohibited under international human rights law. The COVID-19 pandemic has exacerbated the plight of victims of trafficking, due to lockdown measures, travel restrictions and other emergency measures imposed to combat COVID-19. Women and children in particular face heightened forms of exploitation and violence.

The role of first responders – police officers, immigration officers, prosecutors, judges, civil society, medical personnel and others – is essential to effectively combat trafficking in persons, but in many countries the role of these responders has been severely affected by the COVID-19 pandemic. The IDLO webinar ‘COVID-19 and Trafficking in Person: The Role of First Responders’ – held in the context of the World Day against Trafficking in Persons (30 July) – will bring together speakers from Liberia and other African countries, to discuss the impact of the pandemic on their work and share lessons learned, good practices and emerging strategies.

Key issues:

  • What impact does the COVID-19 pandemic have on victims of trafficking in persons? What has been the impact on first responders?
  • What lessons are being learned from combating trafficking in persons in the context of the pandemic? What national and regional good practices and response strategies are emerging?
  • How to address the specific needs of women and children victims of trafficking in persons in the context of COVID-19?

Details:

Tuesday July 28, 2020 | 11.00 GMT | 12.00 WAT Nigeria/UK | 13.00 CAT | 14.00 EAT

REGISTER

 

Country: 
Topics: